AFC Bournemouth History, Facts & Records

A Brief History of AFC Bournemouth

Founded: 1899 as Boscombe

Nicknames: The Cherries

Motto: Anything is Possible

What does the AFC stand for in AFC Bournemouth? It’s short for Athletic Football Club Bournemouth.

Formed in 1899 as Boscombe St. John’s Institute F.C.

To make the club more representative of the district, the name was changed to Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic F.C. in 1923. and the club adopted their current name in 1972.

For the 1923 Season, the club was elected to the newly-expanded Football League Third Division.

The first league match was at Swindon Town on 25 August 1923, which Bournemouth lost 3–1.

The first league game at Dean Court was also against Swindon, where Bournemouth gained their first league point after a 0–0 draw.

AFC Bournemouth’s honours include winning the second and third tiers of English football once, the Football League Trophy once and the Football League Third Division South Cup.

The club has spent the majority of their history bouncing between the third and fourth tiers of English football.

Dean Court (Vitality Stadium)

Stadium Capacity: 11,329

Stadium Info:

Bournemouth have played their home games at Dean Court since 1910.

Dean Court is the smallest Premier League stadium being used in the English top-flight. For sponsorship reasons, the stadium is known as Vitality Stadium.

The club have indicated their intentions to build a new stadium with a greater capacity, likely on a new site. Higher ticket sales would allow more people to watch and also go some way to help fund the clubs running costs.

Stadium Naming Rights

Vitality Stadium

Bournemouth announced the current naming rights, Vitality Stadium, deal in 2015

Over the years, Dean Court has had various sponsor names, beginning in 2001 with the Fitness First Stadium and followed in 2011 by Seward Stadium and in 2012 by Goldsands Stadium

Highest Attendance: 28,799
AFC Bournemouth 1-2 Manchester United
FA Cup
2 March 1957

Appointed: October 2012

Bournemouth Manager: Eddie Howe

Eddie Howe was appointed as the club’s manager in October 2012

Eddie made 300 appearances for the Cherries in 1995–2002 & 2004-2007

Howe began his coaching career with the Cherries which followed spells as reserve, assistant and caretaker manager, before being appointed boss of Bournemouth.

Under manager Eddie Howe, they have risen through the pyramid; the 2015–16 season was their first ever in the top flight and they have remained there ever since.

Bournemouth Chairmen: Jeff Mostyn

Appointed: September 2013

Jeff Mostyn was appointed Bournemouth chairman for a second time in September 2013, having previously held the role in 2007

Bournemouth Captain: Simon Francis

Appointed: March 2019

Simon Francis was instrumental in Bournemouth’s promotion to The Football League Championship in 2012–2013 in which he won Players’ Player of the Season

Simon Francis was appointed captain and enjoyed another strong campaign as the club’s leader, making 34 starts in the Premier League in 2016/17 when the Cherries registered their highest finish, ninth in the top flight.

Bournemouth Club Mascot: Cherry Bear

Bournemouth Football Kits 2019/20 Season

Kit Sponsor: M88

AFC Bournemouth shirt sponsorship deal with M88.

The M88 logo is featured on the front of the club’s adult home, away and third shirts, as well as on adult training wear, for the 2019/20 campaign

Kit Manufacturer: Umbro

Bournemouth signed a club record deal with Umbro as their technical kit supplier. 

Umbro are contracted to supply bespoke kit, replica and training wear for an initial five-year period, from the 2017/18 season.

Home Kit

Away Kit

3rd Kit

Bournemouth’s Premier League History

Bournemouth have not yet won the Premier League. Their best finish to date is 9th in the 2016/17 season.


Premier League Table 2019/20

2Manchester City38263910235+6781
3Manchester United38181286636+3066
5Leicester City38188126741+2662
6Tottenham Hotspur381611116147+1459
7Wolverhampton Wanderers38151495140+1159
9Sheffield United381412123939054
13Newcastle United381111163858-2044
14Crystal Palace381110173150-1943
15Brighton & Hove Albion38914153954-1541
16West Ham United38109194962-1339
17Aston Villa3898214167-2635
20Norwich City3856272675-4921

Bournemouth’s Football League Wins

Bournemouth have won several League Division titles

Football League Championship
> Champions 2014/15

Football League One
> Champions 1986/87
> Runners-Up 1947/48 & 2012/13

Football League Two
> Runners-Up 1970/71 & 2009/10

Southern League
> Runners-Up 1922/23

Bournemouth’s FA Cup Wins

Bournemouth have never won the FA Cup.

Their best performances to date have seen them make it to the 5th round, on two occasions, most recently in 2015/16 where they lost to Everton.

And in 1988/89 they forced a replay against Manchester United after drawing the first game 1-1

YearRoundLost ToScore
1988/895thManchester United1-0

Bournemouth’s Football League Cup Wins

Bournemouth have never won the League Cup.

Their best performances to date have seen them make it to the quarter finals on three separate occasions.

english football league cup trophy
YearRoundLost ToScore
2018/19Quarter FinalChelsea1-0
2017/18Quarter FinalChelsea2-1
2014/15Quarter FinalLiverpool3-1

Bournemouth’s Record Appearances: Steve Fletcher

Club Appearances: 726

Steve Fletcher holds the all-time record for most appearances for AFC Bournemouth playing in 726 games for the club between 1992-2009 & 2010-2013.

Bournemouth Top 10 Player Appearances

  • 726 Steve Fletcher (1992–2009 & 2010-2013)
  • 483 Neil Young (1994-2008)
  • 423 Sean O’Driscoll (1984-1995)
  • 407 James Hayter (1997-2007)
  • 388 Tommy Godwin (1952-1962)
  • 324 Simon Francis (2001 – present)
  • 312 Marc Pugh (2010-2019)
  • 303 John Impey (1975-1983)
  • 301 Brett Pitman (2005–2011 & 2012-2015)
  • 300 Eddie Howe (1995–2002 & 2004-2007)

Competitive matches only

Bournemouth’s Record Goal Scorer: Ted MacDougall

Ted MacDougall is the all-time top goalscorer for AFC Bournemouth with 142 goals in all competitions

Bournemouth’s Top 10 Goal Scorers

  • 142 Ted MacDougall (1969–1972 & 1978-1980)
  • 122 Steve Fletcher (1992–2009 & 2010-2013)
  • 108 James Hayter (1997-2007)
  • 102 Brett Pitman (2005–2011 & 2012-2015)
  • 85 Dickie Dowsett (1957-1962)
  • 66 Callum Wilson (2014 – present)
  • 56 Marc Pugh (2010-2019)
  • 50 Trevor Morgan (1980–1981 & 1982–1984)
  • 48 Joshua King (2015 – present)
  • 46 Phil Boyer (1970-1974)

Bournemouth’s Club Record Signing: Nathan Aké

Transfer Fee: £20m

Nathan Aké joined AFC Bournemouth for a club record fee of £20m from Chelsea in June 2017

Bournemouth’s Top 5 Highest Transfers In

  1. Nathan Aké £20m from Chelsea in June 2017
  2. Dominic Solanke £19m from Liverpool in January 2019
  3. Jordon Ibe £15m from Liverpool in July 2016
  4. Arnaut Groeneveld £13.7m from Club Brugge in August 2019
  5. Lloyd Kelly £13m from Bristol City in May 2019

Bournemouth’s Top 5 Highest Transfers Out

  1. Tyrone Mings £20m to Aston Villa in July 2019
  2. Matt Ritchie £12m to Newcastle United in July 2016
  3. Lys Mousset £10m to Sheffield United in July 2019
  4. Benik Afobe £10m to Wolverhampton Wanderers in June 2018
  5. Tommy Elphick £3m to Aston Villa in June 2016

Bournemouth Fan Club Membership

Bournemouth run a program for children called the ‘Junior Cherries’ and have a Membership option which gives some great benefits and gets the children closer to the action. For more info visit the Club Website

Bournemouth’s Club Information

Club Website:

AFC Bournemouth 
Vitality Stadium 
Dean Court
Kings Park

Credits & Sources: