Premier League Table 2019/20

Liverpool have been crowned Premier League Champions for the first time

The 2019–20 Premier League is the 28th season of the Premier League, the top English professional football league, since its establishment in 1992.

Manchester City are the defending champions for the second successive year, after picking up the domestic treble the previous season.

It was the first Premier League season to have a mid-season break in February. Three games of a normal round of ten were played on the weekend 8–9 February 2020, six games on the following weekend 14–17 February 2020 and the tenth game, Manchester City versus West Ham, was rescheduled from 9 February 2020 to 19 February 2020 due to Storm Ciara. 

Games played on the same day had separate time slots such that the games did not overlap.

  • In 2019–20 the video assistant referee (VAR) review system was introduced.
  • Changes to the rules affecting back-passes, penalties, handballs and substitutions were also introduced.

New Premier League Records

On 25 October 2019, Leicester City broke the Premier League record – as well as the all-time English top-flight record – for the largest away league win and equalled the biggest ever Premier League win when they defeated Southampton 9–0 at St Mary’s Stadium.

On 12 January 2020, in a 6–1 victory over Aston Villa, Manchester City’s Sergio Agüero broke Thierry Henry’s Premier League record for most goals scored by an overseas player.

In the same match, he also broke the record for most hat-tricks scored by a single player

During this season, Liverpool broke or tied several Premier League all-time records, achieving a record-equalling 18 consecutive wins before being defeated by Watford on 29 February.

They have an ongoing record of 22 consecutive home wins, and a record 22-point lead in the table after the same number of matches played.

Premier League Table 2019/20

2Manchester City38263910235+6781
3Manchester United38181286636+3066
5Leicester City38188126741+2662
6Tottenham Hotspur381611116147+1459
7Wolverhampton Wanderers38151495140+1159
9Sheffield United381412123939054
13Newcastle United381111163858-2044
14Crystal Palace381110173150-1943
15Brighton & Hove Albion38914153954-1541
16West Ham United38109194962-1339
17Aston Villa3898214167-2635
20Norwich City3856272675-4921